Author Topic: XBOX red ring  (Read 3071 times)

Offline dtrinib

• dtrinib = The Trini Boy!
    • Time Zone: GMT -04
  • OnLive: ME BULK
  • PSN: dtrinib
  • Steam: dtrinib
  • XBL: ME BULK
XBOX red ring
« on: September 26, 2012, 09:40:39 AM »
After four years of using my xbox I got the bottom right quadrant go red and the error code of E74. Has anyone experiences this?

I know it's not the HDMI or AV cables because i tried different ones.
I Googled how to fix it because i'm outside of the 3yr microsoft warranty, and i found videos showing me how to remove the heat sink and replacing it or buying a new set of X-clamps and replacing them. Has anyone ever done this before?

I bet this was all due to me downloaded minecraft. I decided to try something new and different and this is what happens the next day I started playing.

Offline zerosum

• Forum Moderator
  • Living Legend
  • Some people drink Pepsi, some people drink Coke...
    • Time Zone: GMT -07
  • PSN: ZeroEquals
  • Steam: ZeroEquals
  • XBL: ZeroEquals
Re: XBOX red ring
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2012, 12:47:30 PM »
Have you made sure it's not still under warranty? I remember Microsoft extended the warranty for some consoles (specifically for the RROD) problem, which it sounds you have. I'd check that before attempting to crack open the box, just to be safe.

Offline dtrinib

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2012, 03:03:37 PM »
Have you made sure it's not still under warranty? I remember Microsoft extended the warranty for some consoles (specifically for the RROD) problem, which it sounds you have. I'd check that before attempting to crack open the box, just to be safe.

Ya I check I'd have to pay over $100 for the fix plus be out of an xbox for about a month. So I went ahead and cracked it open last night. Now I just need to make time to get to the dirty part.

Offline nCogNeato

• Administrator
  • Über Legend
  • "Mr. Neato" if you're nasty
    • Time Zone: GMT -05
    • You Are Here