Author Topic: Halo Legend: Frank O'Connor speaks  (Read 321 times)

Offline sambo

• Greatness Personified
  • No cuts, no buts, no coconuts?
    • Time Zone: GMT
  • Last.fm: sambomaher
  • XBL: ox SAMBO xo
Halo Legend: Frank O'Connor speaks
« on: February 11, 2010, 01:08:00 PM »
For those that can't get enough of a Halo fix with ODST Firefights, and the slow build up of Halo: Reach is killing you from stress, help is in order. Pause the endlessly-looping Halo 3 soundtrack on your iPod and settle down for the release of Halo Legends.
The DVD (released as either single disc or two-disc special edition set) collects seven animated shorts based within and around Bungie's Halo universe and marks a historic collaboration between some of Japan's top animation studios and Microsoft.

Ahead of the DVD release on February 15 we caught up with Microsoft's 343 Industries Frank O'Connor to quiz him about the project.
So, how did this come about? And what's your background?

My background is pretty varied. I'm from the UK originally, and I have a background in print media and video game magazine journalism - with a couple of Future Publishing magazines on my resume.

I moved to Bungie in the middle of Halo 2, working on community, marketing and fiction stuff with the studio, and helped ship Halo 3, before settling down again at Microsoft, with 343 Industries. The project itself came about from years of simple conversations and as a kind of logical extension of the ideas we first explored in the Halo Graphic Novel - that is, assemble our favorite artists and writers and have them explore interesting corners of the Halo universe - only this time, we did it in the anime space.

We approached it the same way. Made a list of studios and stories we thought would go well together and we, asked, cap in hand, if they'd be interested in working in our worlds. Luckily, they agreed.